Our Mantel Gets A Makeover

Recently, I did a post entitled “Fall Mantel Decorating,” as I find this is the one spot I’m constantly decorating. Our mantel serves as one of the focal points of our family room. You can also see it from the kitchen and entry, so it’s one place I like to make sure reflects the warm and welcoming feeling of our home.

When I first moved in to my home 13 years ago, I absolutely hated our mantel. It was red brick from floor to ceiling, with a thick piece of slate for a mantel. No matter what I placed on it or above it, I couldn’t get it to work. So, finally after several years, as part of a family room re-do, we decided to update the mantel.

fireplace before

Fireplace Before 2                Fireplace Before 3

I wanted something elegant and timeless. I decided to go with a black honed granite hearth, with a white mantel and surround and I couldn’t be happier. Now I am able to truly achieve the look I wanted when decorating my mantel piece.

Fireplace After

As I mentioned, this was part of a family room redecorating project. One of which I am still in the process of completing. So stay tuned for updates of this project as well as other rooms I am making over.

Leave a Reply

